Taittiriya Brahmana

Also known as -  

Taittiriya Brahmana belongs to Krishna Yajurveda and divided into three khandas. It is considered that part of the Kathaka Brahmana is also included in this shakha. It has both mixed of mantras and Brahmans and composed in poetic and prose manner.

Topics of Taittiriya Brahmana

  • The first kāṇḍa deals with the sacrifices like:
  1. Agnyādhāna
  2. Gavāmayana
  3. Vājapeya
  4. Somayāgas
  5. Nakṣatreṣṭi
  6. Rājasuya
  • The second kāṇḍa deals with the others like:
  1. Agnihotra
  2. Sautrāmaṇi
  3. Upahoma
  4. Bṛhaspatisava
  5. Vaiśyasava

The various mantras, mostly from the Rigveda, to be used in these rites and also other relevant details are given.

  • The third kāṇḍa gives a detailed account of the Nakṣatreṣṭi.
  • Twenty-eight nakṣatras and the mantras to be used for each of them are described.
  • Other subjects dealt with are:
  1. Puruṣamedha
  2. Paśumedha
  3. Preparing the yupa
  4. Rectifying the faults in the rites
  5. Aśvamedha
  • The very last chapter reflects the teachings of the Vedānta through two symbolic sacrifices:
  1. Cāturhotra
  2. Vaiśvasrja
  • It is the total renunciation that leads to liberation.

Source – Hindupedia.com

This section is under Construction.

Download PDF from
Watch on
Listen Audio on
Share On
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram

Shloka from Taittiriya Brahmana

More Granths to explore

Bhasma Jabala Upanishad is one of the minor Shaiva Upanishads. It is associated with the Atharvaveda. The Brihad Jabala Upanishad, in...
Available in - Website, Video
Liakhita Smriti is told in 93 verses by Sage Likhita. Sage Likhita is considered as an authority by the followers of...
The Bhagavad Gita often referred to as the Gita, is a 700-verse scripture that is part of the epic Mahabharata (chapters...
Available in - Website, Hardcopy
The Atharvaveda is the oldest literary monument of Indian medicine. It is believed to be the origin of Ayurveda, the Indian...
Available in - Hardcopy, Softcopy