Yoga is the unique science of consciousness that deal with all important systems of human life from body to personality to mind and to the idea of self. According to ancient yogic scripture, yoga is a very subtle science that provides the union of individual consciousness to the universal consciousness and lets the practitioner remain in a state of bliss. Sage Patanjali was the first one who documented the yoga practices of that time, for future use of practitioners. Later on, many practitioners and yogis came & documented the different texts on yoga on the basis of their individual experiences. On the basis of different practices and teachings of Bhagavad Geeta, different schools of yoga have been introduced.

In last few decades, yoga has helped many people to improve their self-concept. Yoga realizes that man is not only mins but also the body as well. Just improving the condition of body does not necesserily improve it for mind because human being is not only the body and mind but the emotions and desires as well. He is beyong body and mind. Therefore yoga has been designed in such a way that it can complete the process of evolution of self-personality in all directions. That is why yoga has been contruded with so many branches and different techniques and ways to achieve the goal of yoga.

Raja Yoga is the practice that required austerity to follow. It consists of certain guidelines to follow and a set of different practices. This practice is made for the person who has a strong dedication and determination.

Jnana Yoga is the practice of knowledge and learning. Those who always keen to learn more and have curiosity about life and soul should follow the path of Knowledge or Jnana Yoga.

Bhakti yoga is made up of the strong emotion of a devotee. If a person loves to worship God and feels a relation of him with God then he or she should follow this path of Bhakti.

Karma yoga can be applied to householders. Who believes in good actions and the theory of karmas, who are willing to fulfill their responsibilities, and want to achieve liberation from the cycle of life and rebirth, should practice karma yoga.

  • Raja Yoga
  • Jnana Yoga
  • Bhakti Yoga
  • Karma Yoga

Further Reading

Raja Yoga

Jnana Yoga

Karma Yoga

Bhakti Yoga

Further Reading

What is Yoga?

History of Yoga

Misconceptions about Yoga

Fundamentals Of Yoga

9 Principles Of Yoga

Yoga Basics

Panch Mahabhutas



Astanga Yoga

Latest Articles

Online YOGa Classes Coming Soon!

Get a chance to win 6-months Free Consultation

Join as a trainer!

Are you a Yoga Teacher

Join the biggest Yoga community of future.