According to patanjali, Bhakti yoga is the easiest path for those who are emotionally & devotionally inclined. One of the easiest ways to understand the path of bhakti and expand our devotional attitude is to treat others the way we would like to be treated. 

A realization that everything is the Supreme Consciousness, nothing else exists. Losing the sense of separateness from that all-pervading Power, losing the identity that is defined by the world, and merging, diving into the vast, endless ocean of a throbbing, all-encompassing Infinite Love. Bhakti Yoga is the lively feeling of oneness with that Spirit.

Bhakti is not about seeking that love but dropping the barriers we have built within, against it. It opens the door to eternity, within us. It is the love that shines in our eyes as the light of our soul. Bhakti wakes us to realize that everything is a reflection of the Divine.

In Bhakti, one can experience total freedom from fear and worry. A devotee transcends worldly sorrows and pains.

A pure devotee has no selfish desires, including the desire for liberation. Bhakti in one’s heart is kindled by the grace of the Guru, by being in the company of other devotees and by reading and listening to the stories of other “bhaktas” or devotees.

The tradition has ancient roots. Bhakti is mentioned in the Shvetashvatara Upanishad where it simply means participation, devotion and love for any endeavor. Bhakti yoga as one of three spiritual paths for salvation is discussed in depth by the Bhagavad Gita.

Bhakti marga is a part of the religious practice in Vaishnavism, Shaivism, and Shaktism

Bhagavad gita

Bhakti yoga is one of three yoga taught in Bhagavad Gita. Bhakti means we must surrender to Krishna alone. We all have a natural and original transcendental relation with Lord Krishna. To engage in that relationship under the guidance of a bonafide spiritual master is called bhakti or devotional service. Bhagavad Gita is the dictionary and Srimad Bhagavatam is the encyclopaedia to properly understand the process of bhakti-yoga. 

Aarth Bhakt: The Bhagavad Gita, recognizes four kinds of devotees who practice Bhakti yoga. Some practice it because they are hard pressed or stressed by anxiety or their life’s circumstances and see Bhakti yoga as a form of relief.

Jigyasu Bhakta: The second type practices Bhakti yoga to learn about god out of curiosity and intellectual intrigue. 

Artharthi Bhakta: The third type seeks rewards in this or in the afterlife through their Bhakti yoga. 

Gyani Bhakta: The fourth are those who love god driven by pure love, knowing and seeking nothing beyond that experience of love union.

According to these Hindu texts, the highest spiritual level is the fourth, those who are devoted because of their knowledge of love. The Bhagavad Gita states that all four types of Bhakti yogi are noble because their pursuit of Bhakti yoga sooner or later starts the journey on the path of spirituality, it keeps one away from negativity and evil karma, it causes spiritual transformation towards the goal of Bhakti yoga.

Panchayatana puja

Panchayatana puja is a form of bhakti found in the Smarta tradition of Hinduism........

Saiva Siddhanta

The Śaivasiddhānta tradition favors Bhakti yoga, emphasizing loving devotion...

Shakti Bhakti

Bhakti of goddess is another significant tradition, one found in Shaktism. .....

Bhagavata Purana/Vaishnavism

The Bhagavata Purana is a popular and influential text in the Vaishnavism traditions.....

Further Reading

What is Yoga?

History of Yoga

Misconceptions about Yoga

Fundamentals Of Yoga

9 Principles Of Yoga

Yoga Basics

Panch Mahabhutas



Astanga Yoga

Latest Articles

Online YOGa Classes Coming Soon!

Get a chance to win 6-months Free Consultation

Join as a trainer!

Are you a Yoga Teacher

Join the biggest Yoga community of future.