Tejabindhu Upanishad

It is one of the five Bindu Upanishads, all attached to the Atharvaveda, and one of twenty Yoga Upanishads in the four Vedas. The text is notable for its focus on meditation, calling dedication to bookish learning as rubbish, emphasizing practice instead, and presenting the Vedanta doctrine from Yoga perspective. Like almost all other Yoga Upanishads, the text is composed in poetic verse form. The Tejobindu Upanishad begins its discussion of Yoga, with a list of fifteen Angas (limbs), as follows: Yamas (self control), Niyama (right observances), Tyaga (renunciation), Mauna (silence, inner quietness), Desa (right place, seclusion), Kala (right time), Asana (correct posture), Mula-bandha (stopping all connection with the world), Dehasamyama (body equilibrium, no quivering), Drksthiti (mind equilibrium, stable introspection), Pranasamyama (breath equilibrium), Pratyahara (breath exercises), Dharana (concentration), Atma-dhyana (meditation on soul), Samadhi (union of soul with Brahman).


Buy Latest Products

Built in Kashi for the World

ॐ सर्वे भवन्तु सुखिनः