What is Vaishnavism?

The worship and acceptance of Vishnu (Sanskrit: "The Pervader" or "The Immanent") or one of his countless incarnations (avatars) as the highest manifestation of the divine is known as Vaishnavism. Several Vaishnava organisations formed with various ideas and goals throughout the course of a lengthy and complex evolution. The Shrivaishnavas (also known as Vishishtadvaitins) and Madhvas (also known as Dvaitins) of South India; the followers of Vallabha's teachings in western India; and several Vaishnava groups in Bengal in eastern India, who follow teachings derived from those of the saint Chaitanya, are among the major Vaishnava groups. Most Vaishnava followers, on the other hand, draw from numerous traditions and combine Vishnu devotion with local rituals.

10 Avatars of Vishnu


Matsya Avatar

The first avatar of Lord Vishnu is Matsya Avatar, which represents a fish. According to Hindu mythology, Lord Vishnu took the form of a fish to save the first man, Manu, and the seven sages from a catastrophic flood.

Kurma Avatar

The second avatar of Lord Vishnu is Kurma Avatar, which represents a tortoise. Lord Vishnu took the form of a tortoise to support Mount Mandara during the churning of the ocean.

Varaha Avatar

The third avatar of Lord Vishnu is Varaha Avatar, which represents a boar. Lord Vishnu took the form of a boar to rescue the earth from the demon Hiranyaksha, who had stolen it and taken it to the bottom of the ocean.

Narasimha Avatar

The fourth avatar of Lord Vishnu is Narasimha Avatar, which represents a half-man, half-lion. Lord Vishnu took this form to defeat the demon Hiranyakashipu, who had gained a boon that made him virtually indestructible.

Vamana Avatar

The fifth avatar of Lord Vishnu is Vamana Avatar, which represents a dwarf. Lord Vishnu took this form to defeat the demon king Bali, who had gained control of the three worlds.

Parashurama Avatar

The sixth avatar of Lord Vishnu is Parashurama Avatar, which represents a warrior with an axe. Lord Vishnu took this form to eliminate the corrupt and arrogant Kshatriya rulers who had become a burden on the earth.

Rama Avatar

The seventh avatar of Lord Vishnu is Rama Avatar, which represents a prince and king. Lord Vishnu took this form to defeat the demon king Ravana, who had abducted Rama's wife, Sita.

Krishna Avatar

The eighth avatar of Lord Vishnu is Krishna Avatar, which represents a cowherd and prince. Lord Vishnu took this form to defeat the demon king Kansa and to guide humanity towards righteousness.

Buddha Avatar

The ninth avatar of Lord Vishnu is Buddha Avatar, which represents a sage. Lord Vishnu took this form to preach the principles of Buddhism and to help humanity overcome suffering.

Kalki Avatar

The tenth and final avatar of Lord Vishnu is Kalki Avatar, which is yet to come. Lord Vishnu is believed to take this form at the end of the current cycle of creation to destroy the evil forces and to bring about a new era of peace and prosperity.

About the Avatars

A Vainava is a follower of Brahm (God), who is known as Narayan and manifests as the Earthly Vishnu Aditya and Krishna Vasudeva, among other avatars. The religion is named after Vishnu, although it is also known as Bhgvatam and Satvatam[1] after Krishna, and Narayaniya after the Supreme Lord Narayan. The sect is also known as Ekanta Dharm because it worships Narayan, whom it sees as the one genuine God. [2] Although there are people regarded as avatars in Vainavam, it is not necessary to accept that they were avatars or Narayans because the sect is based on Narayans. Many Vaiśnavas that worship Vishnu like to identify Narayan as appearing the same as Vishnu and call him Maha-Vishnu, while many Vaiśnavas that worship Krishna like to imagine him appearing the same as Krishna. So basically they imagine the Earthly incarnation of Vishnu or Krishna as just a physical reflection of Narayan in heaven


Create an Impact!

Keep Alive and Thriving

or Connect on Social

Soulful Sanatan Creations

Explore our Spiritual Products & Discover Your Essence
Best Sellers

Best Sellers

Discover Our Best-Selling Dharmic T-Shirts
Sanatani Dolls

Sanatani Dolls

A new life to stories and sanatan wisdom to kids
Dharmic Products

Dharmic Products

Products for enlightment straight from kashi
Sanskrit T-shirts

Sanskrit T-shirts

Explore Our Collection of Sanskrit T-Shirts
Yoga T-shirts

Yoga T-shirts

Find Your Inner Zen with our Yoga Collection