Yonia in Sanatan Dharma

According to the Vedas, there are 8.4 million distinct species of life, and the conditioned soul is constantly travelling between them based on his karma, under celestial oversight.

Yonia in Sanatan Dharma

How many "yoni" do we have?

According to the Bhagavad Gita (2.22), the soul gives up an old body to acquire a new sort of body (vasmsi jirnni yath vihya), just as one gives up an old shirt to put on a new one. Thus, there are 8.4 million (84 lakh) different sorts of bodies, from which the soul takes on a body after death. However, all of the 8.4 million species' bodies, even the demigods', are vulnerable to birth and death. All such bodies have a finite lifespan, after which they must be surrendered in order to adopt a new body. Death is the process of giving up one type of body and accepting a new one. It is important to highlight that the body dies, not the spirit soul who occupies the body.

Division of Species of LIfe

According to the Padma Purana, the 8.4 million kinds of life are classified into six groups:


The one belonging to water. There are nine hundred thousand (9 lakh) types of aquatics.


The one born from trees. There are two million (20 lakh) types of trees.


The one born out in perspiration or other methods by which insects are born. There are 1.1 million types of insects


There are a million types of birds. The one belonging to air.


There are three million types of animal bodies.


There are four hundred thousand types of human bodies

How does this concept leads to the notion of Mukti?

All of the bodies inside the 8.4 million species' range will deteriorate and eventually die. As a result, a truly intelligent person recognises the futility of all activities undertaken throughout one's existence, the outcomes of which will be completed at the moment of death. As a result, he strives to grasp the true purpose of human existence, and when he does so, God, Who is seated inside his heart, guides him on the transcendental road, where he realises that one must break free from this cycle of 8.4 million species of life.

What does Mukti really means, emerging from this concept?

Liberation (mukti) signifies putting an end to the journey of 8.4 million species. When this cycle is broken, one is freed from the cycle of birth and death and sent to the spiritual sky, where he receives an immortal body. Because it is constituted of sat (eternity), cit (knowledge), and ananda (bliss), the body he receives in the spiritual realm is devoid of birth and death. There is no way we can return to the terrible cycle of 8.4 million species of life once we enter the spiritual world [yad gatva na nivartante: Bg. 15.6].

Explore brah.ma

Create an Impact!

Keep Brah.ma Alive and Thriving

or Connect on Social

Soulful Sanatan Creations

Explore our Spiritual Products & Discover Your Essence
Best Sellers

Best Sellers

Discover Our Best-Selling Dharmic T-Shirts
Sanatani Dolls

Sanatani Dolls

A new life to stories and sanatan wisdom to kids
Dharmic Products

Dharmic Products

Products for enlightment straight from kashi
Sanskrit T-shirts

Sanskrit T-shirts

Explore Our Collection of Sanskrit T-Shirts
Yoga T-shirts

Yoga T-shirts

Find Your Inner Zen with our Yoga Collection