Logoपरिवर्तनं भव




Shiva is known for embodying Brahman's destructive aspect. When it comes to annihilation and destruction, Lord Bhairav is revered as an avatar of Lord Shiva himself.


Lord Bhairav is a ferocious manifestation of Lord Shiva who is frequently linked to destruction. The deity is Shiva's manifestation of transcendence and terror, according to Hindu beliefs. Lord Shiva's wandering avatar is he. There are thought to be 64 Bhairavas in total. These Bhairavas are classified into eight categories. Kala Bhairava, the Universe's supreme ruler of time, oversees and monitors the Bhairavas. Millions of Hindus, Jains, and Buddhists in India and Nepal hold him in high regard. Lord Bhairava, also known as Bahirawa in Sinhala, is said to protect treasure. He is the primary deity for whom the Aghori sect prays. Gorat's Kashmiri residents honour Lord Bhairav during Shivaratri.

The Bhairavas' head is known as the Astanga Bhairavas. The eight incarnations of Bhairavas who protect and govern the universe's eight directions are known as:

Asitanga Bhairava: This increases creative energy and promotes prosperity. Ruru Bhairava: Aids in the defeat of enemies. Chanda Bhairava: Boosts self-esteem. Krodha Bhairava: Gives an individual the ability to make important life decisions. Unmattha Bhairava: Aids in improving your command of the English language. Kapala Bhairava: Aids in the elimination of unproductive tasks and actions. Bheeshana Bhairava: Overcome evil spirits and combat negativity. Samhaara Bhairava: Removes negative consequences of past actions.


Hindus worship Lord Bhairava, who is a Shaivite God. In Shaivism, he is regarded as a terrifying incarnation of Lord Shiva and is associated with destruction. Bhairava is known in the Trika system to represent supreme reality, which is equivalent to Para Brahman. Bhairava is also known as Dandapani in Hinduism because he is holding a rod.

(Danda) to punish sinners He is also known as 'Swaswa,' which means 'the one whose mode of transportation is a dog.' Lord Bhairava is also depicted in the Puranas. There was a battle between gods and demons in this story. To destroy the asuras, Lord Shiva created Kala Bhairava, from whom Aga Bhairavas were born. Ashta Matrikas and Astha Bhairavas married. Both the Ashta Bhairavas and the Ashta Matrikas have terrifying forms. 64 Bhairavas and 64 Yoginis were formed from these Ashta Bhairavas and Ashta Matrikas.

'Origin of the Name

'Bhairava' in its literal translation is terrifying. Its interpretation is slightly different. In general, he is the deity who protects his worshippers from both external and internal enemies such as anger, lust, greed, and a variety of other negative emotions. There is another interpretation of the name. 'Bha' stands for creation, 'Ra' stands for preservation, and "Va" stands for destruction. As a result, Bhairava is regarded as the supreme godhead, uniting all of the forces of the universe.


Every Lord Shiva temple contains a Bhairava idol. These idols are usually placed to the north and south. The deity is depicted wearing a variety of twisted serpents as anklets, bracelets, and sacred thread. He's dressed in tiger skin and a human bone ritual apron. He is depicted as Ksetrapala (temple guardian), standing with his four hands holding his drum, pasa (noose), trident, and skull. Several depictions show him naked, with four hands, protruding teeth, a garland of red flowers, and a terrifying appearance.

Shvan, his divine vahana (vehicle) and constant companion, is always depicted next to him. Svarkara Bhairava has a red complexion and wears a bright golden outfit, as well as a moon on his head and four hands, one of which holds a golden vessel. Bhairavi, Lord Bhairava's consort, is a terrifying and terrifying feature of the Devi who is nearly identical to Kali except for her recognition as Lord Bhairava's spouse.

Characteristic Traits of Lord Bhairav

Lord Bhairav is portrayed as a fierce female protector. He is regarded as a protector of the timid, especially meek females. He is frequently depicted as a protector, guarding the universe's eight directions. The keys are kept in front of Lord Shiva when the temples are closed. It is said that his third eye represents eternal supreme wisdom.

Interesting facts about Lord Bhairav

Lord Bhairava is also known as the Lord of Time. He helps worshippers make the most of their time in order to achieve their objectives. If you truly pray to the deity, you will stop wasting time on meaningless activities and put that energy to good use. He aids in soul cleansing and creates favourable circumstances for his devotees using his divine power. Worshippers frequently find themselves in the right place at the right time for incredible opportunities, as if by magic.

Lord Bhairava is also known as the Temple Guardian (Kotwal or Kshetrapalaka). At the end of the day, the shrine keys are ritually placed before Bhairava and then retrieved when the temple is opened in the morning. He is also referred to as the Traveler's Guardian. It is believed that before embarking on a journey, a devotee must light a diya (lamp) and make a garland of cashew nut wreaths to offer to the Lord Bhairava idol. This guarantees safety and security. He is well-known for protecting those who travel long distances, particularly at night.


In India, there are many sacred days dedicated to various gods, as well as religious and cultural festivals. One of them is the auspicious Kala Ashtami. Every Hindu lunar month, it is observed during the Ashtami Tithi of Krishna Paksha (the 8th day during the waning phase of the moon). It is dedicated to Lord Bhairava, the ferocious and terrifying avatar of Lord Shiva. There are 12 Kala Ashtamis each year. The best day to pray to Lord Bhairava is Ashtami Tithi (8th day after Purnima (full moon).

Buy Latest Products

Built in Kashi for the World

ॐ सर्वे भवन्तु सुखिनः